The 2015 Kudu Awards opens for entries

May 21, 2015

The 2015 Kudu Awards organized by South African National Parks (SANParks) in partnership with First National Bank (FNB) and Total SA has opened for entries.

SANParks' Head of Communications, Paul Daphne said, “the Kudu Awards is SANParks' way of honouring and celebrating those people who eat, sleep and breath conservation. We want to celebrate those that go to any length to conserve and protect our natural environment and heritage for future generations.”

The award is an initiative that aims to recognise external stakeholders for their contributions and efforts in making SANParks the custodian of choice for the national parks system in South Africa. “It aims at enhancing equitable and sustainable relationships with various external communities with a particular caring interest to the national parks of our country.”

According to Daphne entering the awards programme holds real, tangible benefits for entrants. “In addition to receiving a thorough summary of all comments by judges, finalists and winners receive widespread exposure which gives them a definite competitive edge to their peers, particularly around their passion for our parks and all have a need to be recognised as the best in the conservation of our biodiversity.” “It is for this reason that we need to celebrate these achievements by paying tribute to those who worked effortlessly in putting our parks on the forefront of conservation.”

The awards are separated into five different categories:

  • Corporate Contribution to Conservation Award.
  • Environmental Media Contribution to Conservation.
  • Community Contribution to Conservation and the
  • Environmental Education/Capacity Building award.
  • Professional Stakeholders and Associated Partners;
  • Individual Contribution to Conservation;
  • Website Community Choice award (This is not adjudicated by the Kudu Awards panel as the SANParks forum moderators create an online poll where the public can vote for the nominees online. Nominations for the Website Community Choice award can however be submitted via the official nomination form.)

The final date for entries is 31 July 2015.

The award winners will be announced at a function in Gauteng in October.

For more information or an entry form visit:

Article source:

Tell a friend Print this page