The 2014 Kudu Awards call for nominations

Jul 4, 2014

South African National Parks (SANParks)  is once again calling for the 2014 annual Kudu Awards nominations. In its 10th year of celebration, the Kudu Awards is SANParks’ way of honouring and celebrating those people who eat, sleep and breath conservation.

The Kudu Awards is an initiative that aims to reward stakeholders for their contributions and efforts in making South African National Parks the custodian of choice for protected areas. A select number of persons and organisations who have made significant contribution to conservation will receive a Kudu Award in the form of a bronze sculpture of a Kudu head.

SANParks will once again partner with First National Bank (FNB) and Total SA has also come on board this year in marking the 10-year celebration of the Kudu Awards.

The awards are separated into the following six main categories:

  • Corporate contribution to conservation award;
  • Environmental media contribution to conservation award;
  • Community contribution to conservation;
  • Environmental education/Capacity building award;
  • Professional Stakeholders;
  • Associated partners

South African citizens are encouraged to nominate deserving candidates and entities who are working tirelessly to conserve nature. The Acting Head of Communications, Mr Reynold Thakhuli emphasised that we want to celebrate those that go to any length to conserve and protect our natural environment and heritage for future generations.

He said in a world threatened by a change in climate patterns, it is important that corporates, individuals or groups are able to raise their voices in line with the 2014 World Environment Day slogan ‘Raise your voices, not the sea levels’. “They are advocates for change in their operations all in the name of taking care of the environment we are living in.”

Entering the awards programme holds real, tangible benefits for entrants. In addition to receiving a thorough summary of all comments by judges, whether positive or negative, finalists and winners receive widespread exposure which gives them a definite competitive edge to their peers, particularly around their passion for our parks and all have a need to be recognised as the best in the conservation of our biodiversity.

Nominations can be submitted by clicking on the following link with detailed list of categories and criteria thereof: The final date for entries is 31 July 2014.

The award winners will be announced at a function in Gauteng in November.

Article & image source:

Tell a friend Print this page